NEW: We have a Discord server now. Click here to go there now!

NOTE: Why not use our List Manager to crack your lists? Its easy and enables better management.

NOTE: When cracking WPA/WPA2 passwords, make sure you check gpuhash.me first incase it's already been processed.

Home - Hardware for Sale - Which graphic card should I add


7 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1
Author Message
Avatar
12monkeys

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 72
Team:
Reputation: 10 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 07 Jan 2016 @ 15:03:47

I would like to speed up oclhashcat. So I started to think about upgrading my PC.
Here is what I have:
OCZ 600w psu
GA-P55-UD3R mb
2x2gb ddr3
i5 750 4x2.6ghz
XFX 6790

I have only 1 extra slot for graphic card.
What should I get? another 6790?
I can't buy high end card, that is for sure. I was rather thinking to buy something used from ebay or craigslist.
Right now I can do up to 47000 H/s
So 100k would be nice but maybe you have better idea?
What are the cards which i should be looking for to get better hashcat speed but not paying too much?
Will my PSU handle 2 cards?


write something positive, mad.

Avatar
xmisery
Moderator
Status: Trusted
Joined: Fri, 06 Jun 2014
Posts: 240
Team:
Reputation: 632 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 28 Jan 2016 @ 01:25:49

Best thing to do is sell your 6790 (AMD no longer supports the 5000, 6000, 7000 series cards) and put in 2x Nvidia GTX 970's. Preferably from the list below;

NVIDIA GTX 970 (Reference) - BestBuy.com only carries this one
MSI GTX 970 4GD5 OC
ASUS TURBO-GTX970-OC-4GD5
Gigabyte GV-N970TTOC-4GD


· Team Hashcat ·

$BTC | 129RuiSCtGvXsWmve1oB4DjXV7dbxSHxkd

General Forum Rules | Paid Password Recovery Rules

Avatar
12monkeys

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 72
Team:
Reputation: 10 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 28 Jan 2016 @ 03:12:43

600w will be enough to charge these 2 cards? What speed will these cards give me?


write something positive, mad.

Avatar
12monkeys

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 72
Team:
Reputation: 10 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 28 Jan 2016 @ 13:10:01

Ok i checked. It would be 314kh/s for $660 if my psu can take it...


write something positive, mad.

Avatar
xmisery
Moderator
Status: Trusted
Joined: Fri, 06 Jun 2014
Posts: 240
Team:
Reputation: 632 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 28 Jan 2016 @ 14:01:56

An added benefit in switching to those Nvidia GPUs is that they are the new Maxwells, so you'll get good performance and low power draw. So, to answer your question, your 600w PSU will be able to handle both cards with no problem, provided it has enough PCI-e power cables. (check to make sure) One final suggestion would be to bump your ram to 8 or 16GB, if possible.


· Team Hashcat ·

$BTC | 129RuiSCtGvXsWmve1oB4DjXV7dbxSHxkd

General Forum Rules | Paid Password Recovery Rules

Avatar
12monkeys

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 72
Team:
Reputation: 10 Reputation
Offline
Fri, 29 Jan 2016 @ 22:00:26

Ok. Do you really use this much ram?


write something positive, mad.

Avatar
xmisery
Moderator
Status: Trusted
Joined: Fri, 06 Jun 2014
Posts: 240
Team:
Reputation: 632 Reputation
Offline
Fri, 29 Jan 2016 @ 23:53:57

It depends on what your workload is going to be. Adding more ram is not a requirement, but it helps having the larger wordlists/dictionaries cached into memory.


· Team Hashcat ·

$BTC | 129RuiSCtGvXsWmve1oB4DjXV7dbxSHxkd

General Forum Rules | Paid Password Recovery Rules


7 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1

We have a total of 216658 messages in 26493 topics.
We have a total of 23368 registered users.
Our newest registered member is kingofs.