NEW: We have a Discord server now. Click here to go there now!

NOTE: Why not use our List Manager to crack your lists? Its easy and enables better management.

NOTE: When cracking WPA/WPA2 passwords, make sure you check gpuhash.me first incase it's already been processed.

Home - Wireless Cracking - Question about virginmediaxxxxxxxx SSID's


4 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1
Author Message
Avatar
unix

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Thu, 02 Jun 2016 @ 19:25:47

Hi,
I've had a look over https://forum.hashkiller.co.uk/topic-view.aspx?t=2715 and http://help.virginmedia.com/system/selfservice.controller?CMD=VIEW_ARTICLE&ARTICLE_ID=29477 which suggests that the SSID I'm interested in is a Super Hub.
Can anybody confirm when cracking this that it is a-z with i & o omitted for each (like -1 abcdefghjklmnpqrstuvwxyz ?1?1?1?1?1?1?1?1) ?
https://forum.hashkiller.co.uk/topic-view.aspx?t=2715 doesn't specify whether the same mask should be applied.
Any help from someone who's already cracked this kind of protection on a super hub appreciated.


Avatar
j4_jjjj

Status: n/a
Joined: Tue, 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 14
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Wed, 08 Jun 2016 @ 10:37:56

See this post: https://forum.hashkiller.co.uk/topic-view.aspx?t=9702&m=91794#91794

It discusses possible omissions for VM routers, and has a nice script that will help reduce keyspace. On my GTX 860, though, its still 6ish days for that to run. Assuming your gear is better, should be able to brute force that hash pretty easily.


Avatar
j4mbob

Status: n/a
Joined: Thu, 28 Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Fri, 10 Jun 2016 @ 20:27:02

ive just ran the full keyspace abcdefghjklmnpqrstuvwxyz (i and o ommited) for what I believe is a super hub (SSID virginmediaxxxxxxxx) and it didnt find it.

According to http://help.virginmedia.com/system/selfservice.controller?CMD=VIEW_ARTICLE&ARTICLE_ID=29477&CURRENT_CMD=SEARCH&CONFIGURATION=1001&PARTITION_ID=1&USERTYPE=1&LANGUAGE=en&COUNTY=us&VM_CUSTOMER_TYPE=Cable


the super hub is 8 chars long and uses "letters and numbers"

To run that full keyspace [a-z][A-Z][0-9] its coming up as 10 years > on my rig (1x 1080 , 1x980)

I think we're going to need some example keys so that we can see if it uses the full keyspace or not...


Avatar
h4x0rm1k3

Status: n/a
Joined: Wed, 30 Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Team:
Reputation: 1 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 14 Jun 2016 @ 22:16:21

For the virginmedia8693950 , VM9705681-2G, VM9705681-5G routers the keyspace is indeed a-z omitting i&o and 8 characters in length. There is however a newer Hub3 out/coming out that uses the VM type SSID but doesn't have the 2G/5G at the end of it so it looks like this VM9705940 and apparently uses a lot more characters (A-Z, a-z, 0-9) and is 12 characters in length, once these hit the markets fully our Virmin cracking days will be pretty much over unless you own multiple rigs with 8xGTX1080's and then it's still gonna take a long time!



4 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1

We have a total of 210393 messages in 25841 topics.
We have a total of 22912 registered users.
Our newest registered member is Balu314.