12x GPU Monster For SALE by HashKiller Owner

NOTE: Why not use our List Manager to crack your lists? Its easy and enables better management.

NOTE: When cracking WPA/WPA2 passwords, make sure you check gpuhash.me first incase it's already been processed.

Home - Wireless Cracking - Hashrate depend from handshake


8 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1
Author Message
Avatar
ciccio2

Status: n/a
Joined: Tue, 28 Feb 2017
Posts: 137
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Mon, 06 Mar 2017 @ 22:31:59

Hi, I would like to ask a question. I usually have .cap with an Hashrate under 70000 h/s, but last night I captured a .cap that it can run at 317 kh/s.. How is it possible? Many handshake will speed up the entire process? Thanks I'm advance for the answers


1x RX 480

Avatar
kratos

Status: Member
Joined: Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 157
Team:
Reputation: 126 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 00:14:12

abdou99 said:


if you are referring to hashcat:
i have posted this on github issues, maybe it's a bug..
BUG: Speed.Dev #1158

more of a feature than a bug

hashcat takes 8192 HMAC-SHA1 to compute PMK for each passphrase
candidate - this is time expensive part

then it take only 2 more HMAC-SHA1 to test each handshake MIC
so this part essentially cost hashcat nothing

for each handshake in hccapx, hashcat is cracking one more hash in
same time

so however many handshake in hccapx the effective crack speed will
increase by same proportion



Avatar
kratos

Status: Member
Joined: Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 157
Team:
Reputation: 126 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 03:26:42

ciccio2 said:

Hi, I would like to ask a question. I usually have .cap with an Hashrate under 70000 h/s, but last night I captured a .cap that it can run at 317 kh/s.. How is it possible? Many handshake will speed up the entire process? Thanks I'm advance for the answers

assuming this is latest hashcat with hccapx

hashcat is cracking one hash for every handshake in hccapx
so displayed hashrate will increase for every handshake in hccapx

the hashrate is not the same as the number of passphrases being tested

you are probably more interested in number of passphrase per second
hashcat does not display that

you are not getting any speed up on cracking



Avatar
ciccio2

Status: n/a
Joined: Tue, 28 Feb 2017
Posts: 137
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 08:44:46

kratos said:

ciccio2 said:

Hi, I would like to ask a question. I usually have .cap with an Hashrate under 70000 h/s, but last night I captured a .cap that it can run at 317 kh/s.. How is it possible? Many handshake will speed up the entire process? Thanks I'm advance for the answers

assuming this is latest hashcat with hccapx

hashcat is cracking one hash for every handshake in hccapx
so displayed hashrate will increase for every handshake in hccapx

the hashrate is not the same as the number of passphrases being tested

you are probably more interested in number of passphrase per second
hashcat does not display that

you are not getting any speed up on cracking

mmh it's a strange thing.. i mean , if i have 4 handshake , they getting cracking each 4 in parallel way , so in theory the time decrease by 1/4 .. i try with that .cap and in effect i have a time divided by 4


1x RX 480

Avatar
kratos

Status: Member
Joined: Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 157
Team:
Reputation: 126 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 08:59:36

ciccio2 said:


mmh it's a strange thing.. i mean , if i have 4 handshake , they getting cracking each 4 in parallel way , so in theory the time decrease by 1/4 .. i try with that .cap and in effect i have a time divided by 4

i said that hashrate does not always equal passphrase rate

u may have 4 handshake but they are all derived from same passphrase
hashcat is not testing 4 passphrases at the same time but testing the hash of 4 handshakes

the advantage of multiple handshake is that if one or more is bad another may be good

that make hashcat more reliable at finding passphrase but not any quicker



Avatar
gpuhash_me

Status: Trusted
Joined: Sun, 08 Nov 2015
Posts: 859
Team: gpuhash team
Reputation: 1605 Reputation
Online
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 09:37:22

Atom made fresh commit about a hour ago which fixes this strange hashcat speed meter behaviour.
https://github.com/hashcat/hashcat/commit/33a043ec63e65c5a497a73100d7243eda040fb86
You can try latest precompiled beta from here: https://hashcat.net/beta/


Head of cheap publicity department
Support, discounts, free offers for HK members
BTC: 1GPUHASHckzcL2fDXyGSc2WNqpFjJZbFaN

Avatar
kratos

Status: Member
Joined: Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 157
Team:
Reputation: 126 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 10:57:26

gpuhash_me said:

Atom made fresh commit about a hour ago which fixes this strange hashcat speed meter behaviour.

that is good

people do not really need to understand what is going on internally in hashcat
with multiple WPA handshakes in hccapx

should now reduce a lot of confusion if the displayed hashrate always shows
the passphrase rate for WPA



Avatar
ciccio2

Status: n/a
Joined: Tue, 28 Feb 2017
Posts: 137
Team:
Reputation: 0 Reputation
Offline
Tue, 07 Mar 2017 @ 11:43:48

ok it's just a bug.. thank you


1x RX 480


8 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1

We have a total of 202054 messages in 24899 topics.
We have a total of 22203 registered users.
Our newest registered member is shadowhz.