12x GPU Monster For SALE by HashKiller Owner

NOTE: Why not use our List Manager to crack your lists? Its easy and enables better management.

NOTE: When cracking WPA/WPA2 passwords, make sure you check gpuhash.me first incase it's already been processed.

Home - General Discussion - GPU or Other Hardware Issue?


3 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1
Author Message
Avatar
pur evil

Status: n/a
Joined: Fri, 19 Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Team:
Reputation: 4 Reputation
Offline
Wed, 24 Jul 2013 @ 17:03:27

I've been lurking on the forums for a while now, and have had decent success with what I've learned here and my significant previous experience with pyrit/kali/reaver and so on. However, I have recently bought two additional 6970's, to compliment my original from HIS, though these new units were manufactured by radeon and I'm seeing very different speeds. My HIS version was seeing 79000/s without accelleration but each of the two radeons are only reaching 68000/s and 60000/s plus I'm getting non-stop amd driver crashes now. In the mean time, I've pulled my HIS and I'm running the two radeons. The only thing I can think of is that either the cards were underclocked, or that they are underpowered as I only have a 700w Enermax PSU right now. Other things I should mention are that the rig is 3 years old now, and there have been serious power outages and surges over this period, also that I've been using catalyst 13.4 with the --force command (even on my old single unit for months without issue).

Could it be a power supply issue?
Could the new units be failing?
Should I downgrade and wipe to 13.1?


Any help would be appreciated


edited by pur evil on 24/07/2013


i7-920 @ 3.0 ghz
3x HD6970's
12 gb DDR3 Ram @ 1600mhz
4x 2TB Seagate M2000's

Attachments: Login to view attachments.
Avatar
Szul

Status: Elite
Joined: Sat, 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 1561
Team:
Reputation: 1457 Reputation
Online
Wed, 24 Jul 2013 @ 18:00:53

in my 4x7970 rig i got silverstone 1500w PSU, (in 3x 7970 thermaltake 1500w). In my opinion You gotblem with PSU


Jabber: Szul@jabb.im
Discord Szul#4608
4 x GTX 1080
TEAM HASHCAT

Avatar
pur evil

Status: n/a
Joined: Fri, 19 Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Team:
Reputation: 4 Reputation
Offline
Wed, 24 Jul 2013 @ 18:20:56

agreed, those were my original thoughts as well. i just finished wiping the 13.4 drivers and installed 13.1. plus adding a loop of 16 increased my speeds by about 31000/s combined. also, i've observed that the amd driver crashes occur when firefox, klite or maya is open.

**Update**

after switching psu's (to a 1200w) most problems disappeared, there are still sporadic driver crashes and with some modest tweaking (16/32) i was pleased with the results, despite random heating issues.

results


edited by pur evil on 26/07/2013


i7-920 @ 3.0 ghz
3x HD6970's
12 gb DDR3 Ram @ 1600mhz
4x 2TB Seagate M2000's

Attachments: Login to view attachments.

3 Results - Page 1 of 1 -
1

We have a total of 205353 messages in 25326 topics.
We have a total of 22514 registered users.
Our newest registered member is Fmamb.